New England Regional Fellowship Consortium

    THE NEW ENGLAND REGIONAL FELLOWSHIP CONSORTIUM, a collaboration of 30 major cultural agencies, will offer at least two dozen awards in 2019–2020. Each grant will provide a stipend of $5,000 for a minimum of eight weeks of research at participating institutions. Awards are open to U.S. citizens and foreign nationals who hold the necessary U.S. government documents. Grants are designed to encourage projects that draw on the resources of several agencies.

    NERFC grants support work in a broad array of fields, including but not limited to: history, literature, art history, African American studies, American studies, women’s and gender studies, anthropology, sociology, philosophy, religious studies, environmental studies, oceanography, and the histories of law, medicine, and technology. Member institutions hold collections that offer a historical perspective on topics in all of these fields and more. For information on each member's resources, see its listing in “Participants” and contact the institution.

    Each NERFC itinerary must:

    • be a minimum of eight weeks
    • include at least three different member institutions, and
    • include at least two weeks at each of these institutions.

    NERFC expects fellows to visit all the repositories they list in their proposals for the length of time they specify. The Consortium’s policy is to ensure that each member with collections hosts fellows every year. An applicant’s proposed itinerary may be a factor in the decision whether to award a fellowship. In keeping with NERFC’s regional interests, the Consortium may also favor applications that draw on institutions from more than one metropolitan area. Grants in the upcoming cycle are for the year June 1, 2019–May 31, 2020.


    The Boston Public Library’s Rare Books and Manuscripts Department will remain closed to researchers while the department undergoes an inventory of its entire collection. Fellowship applicants for 2018-2019 should not plan to access collections in this department. Itineraries with these collections will not be considered. Other BPL departments, including Prints and Photographs, Fine Arts, and the map collection remain accessible, and they are excited to host NERFC fellowship work in these, and look forward to reopening all of their collections late in 2019.

    Special Awards

    THE COLONIAL SOCIETY OF MASSACHUSETTS each year underwrites a project on the history of New England before the American Revolution. This year's fellow will be Jared Lucky, a graduate student at Yale University. His project is entitled "Cattle, Empire, and 'Cowboys' in Colonial New England," a comparative study of cattle frontiers in the Spanish and British empires.

    Application Process

    Candidates must apply online. The NERFC is managed by the Massachusetts Historical Society. Online applications links will bring you to the MHS website.